It’s not easy to choose which of CLIFTON DAVIS’ many accomplishments is most noteworthy, although writing “Never Can Say Goodbye,” made famous by The Jackson 5 and recorded by dozens of other artists, maybe the one most people are familiar with. Now, after a long and enviable career, the singer, songwriter, actor, and minister can chalk up another success, because he is finally releasing his debut jazz album entitled NEVER CAN SAY GOODBYE.

Davis teamed up with BEEGIE ADAIR and her trio for this project. Adair is among the biggest sellers in the jazz genre. With 2 million albums sold and sold out performances internationally, the Beegie Adair Trio is one of the most successful working groups in the world. Also joining Davis are the renowned vocal group TAKE 6, who backs up Davis on the title tune, and vocalist MONICA RAMEY, who sings a duet with Davis on “Two for the Road.” MARK KIBBLE, from Take 6, also adds backup vocals on several tunes.

NEVER CAN SAY GOODBYE comprises three songs penned by Davis, a tune by Adair, and several standards. The album is lush and romantic, burnished by Davis’ smooth, warm voice and Adair’s laid back, virtuosic piano playing. String arrangements add to the music’s dreamy sonority.
Rel Date: August 13th, 2020 Name: Clifton Davis Title: Never Can Say Goodbye Label: Clifton Davis Productions Cat No: CDP-202001B
NEVER. IG: @thecliftondavis

Clifton Davis vocals
Beegie Adair piano
Roger Spencer trio arrangements & bass
Chris Brown drums
Monica Ramey vocals (Two for the Road)
Jeff Taylor accordian
Mark Kibble background vocals & vocal arrangements
Take 6 background vocals (Never Can Say Goodbye)
Kevin Toney synth strings & string arrangements
Charles Mims string arrangements, synth & sweetening
String Production ESESSION STRINGS:
Paul Hopenhayn strings producer, arranger, violins & violas
Pablo Saltzman string arranger
Cecilia Garcia violin & viola
Paula Pomeraniec cello
Executive Producer: Clifton Davis
Associate Producer: Monica Davis


  1. I’ve Never Been in Love Before 2:43
  2. Never Can Say Goodbye 4:49
  3. Two for the Road 3:58
  4. Swept Away 4:43
  5. The Folks Who Live on the Hill 4:47
  6. Too Marvelous 3:16
  7. So Many Stars 4:21
  8. Começar de Novo 4:18
  9. Somewhere in the Hills 3:37
  10. Teach Me Tonight 3:57
  11. Minha Alma 3:40
  12. Leaving It Up to You 4:33

Mouthpiece Music — Holly Cooper
(310) 993-4017 |

Radio Promotion
MC Promotion — Michael Carlson
(360) 598-3044 |