MIAMI, FL — 5/1/2013 – South Florida musician Bill Muter offers a new innovative sound on a traditional instrument. With glimpses of hip-hop, jazz, oldies and classical music, Muter’s new album “Off Script” has something for everyone. Produced by singer/songwriter Mike Mineo, the two set out to pioneer a new sound by exploring all of the sonic possibilities of the tuba. In the album, there are a total of 120 compiled tracks of tuba, playing the melody, bass lines and even the drum parts.

“The first day in the studio, we set up a microphone and recorded every noise we could make with the tuba. I played it like a drum, buzzed into it and even recorded the mechanical noises. Everything from that day we then used as a template to create the rest of the album,” says Muter

Off Script includes original music by Muter and also covers hits from Bob Marley, JJ Johnson and the Chordettes. The official album release is on May 17th 2013 at the Midwest Regional Tuba Euphonium Conference at Illinois State University. Muter will be presenting a music entrepreneurship clinic at the conference titled “Participating in Our Own Rescue” at 5:00pm in the Kemp Recital Hall. The album is available for purchase at or download NOW on iTunes.

Bill Muter is an active performer, clinician and advocate for the arts. Muter is the author of a music technique book titled “A Practical Approach.” The book was released in English and Japanese and was one of the bestselling books on Apple’s iBookstore, topping the “Beatles Songbook” and the popular “Real Book.” Muter is a highly sought after music clinician and currently serves as a Music Consultancy Agent for Honeyland College in Nigeria. Muter’s performance background is as diverse as his audience. Since the start of his professional career, Muter has maintained a schedule of over two hundred public performances a year in venues across North America, South Korea, Japan, Haiti and more. Muter was also the tuba soloist and percussionist in the Tony and Emmy Award winning show “Blast,” performing with the company for the last five years.

Bill Muter – Off Script – Track Listing: 1. Tuba Conduit
2. Three Little Birds
3. For You

4. Carnival in Four
5. Escape
6. Ryukyu – Meditation and Reflection 7. Lament
8. Mister Sandman

Bill Muter Music: