by: Geannine Reid

Hibbard and ever busy side-man is credited with appearing on albums by Joe Gransden’s Big Band, trumpeter Melvin Jones’, newest release Pivot, the Derek Trucks Band and Soul Stew Revival with Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi and winning a 2010 Grammy Award for his playing and horn arrangements on Already Free. He is also featured on the critically acclaimed live album, Roadsongs, released in 2010 by The Derek Trucks Band.

Time Gone By is a potpourri of Modern, Hard-Bop and Contemporary flavored compositions, which display some of the most emboldened performances by the entire ensemble.

The revelry kicks off with a hard-bop burner “Rude on Purpose” that features a burning two horn blitzkrieg, Jones (trumpet) and Hibbard (sax) create a hard hitting attack that signals the listener they are in for an outing that is worth adding to the top-shelf collection. The flame is stoked on “Indecision,” bringing the outing to a sizzling fervor.

Ballads such as “December 18th” and “Remembrance of Things Past” highlight pianist Louis Heriveaux ability to create complex textural support and beautiful chordal choices. Another ballad that highlights the leader’s abilities is “Always on My Mind,” not necessarily a well-known choice for a jazz album; the cut captures Hibbard at his best offering up pastoral melodicism within his delivery.

Drummer Justin Varnes shines on “La Danza Olvidada,” tinged with Latin flavors this cut really shows Varnes abilities to create rhythmic complexities, whilst Hibbard provides a searing overlay of fast lines and vibrant sonic colors.

Though this is only Hibbard’s sophomore release, the statement he makes is absorbing and lasting. The wonderful news is; if this is only disc two – what will the future bring and how wonderful it will be for all of us to watch as this giant in the making takes center stage.

Track Listing: Rude on Purpose; December 18th; Indecision; Hallowed Ground; Always on My Mind; Theme for Dos Lyn; Rememberance of Things Past; Slip and Slide; The Rain King; Time Gone By; La Danza Olvidada; For The Memories We Share.

Personnel: Mace Hibbard: saxophones; Melvin Jones: trumpet; Louis Heriveaux: piano; Marc Miller: bass; Justin Varnes: drums.