With the release of his third CD as a leader, Lagos Pepper Soup, The London-born, Lagos-raised, and New York-based electric and acoustic bassist, composer, bandleader Michael Olatuja.  Lagos Pepper Soup – named after a popular West African dish, is a spectacular blend of West African Afrobeats, R&B, gospel, and jazz.  The album is supported by an international All-Star cast featuring: vocalists Angelique Kidjo, Dianne Reeves, Onaje Jefferson, Dianne Reeves and Becca Stevens,  guitarist Lionel Loueke, violinist Regina Carter, saxophonist Joe Lovano, and harmonica player, Gregoire Maret. Michael’s simple message is one of hope and uplift net – whether spoken in Yoruba or English and remains the centerpiece of his enduring art.   

Michael Olatuja – Bass 
Brandee Younger – Harp
Terreon Gully – Drums
Etienne Stadwijk – Piano
Ayana George – Voice 
Cassondra James – Voice 

Gail  Boyd – gailboyd@gailboyd.com