Friday, March 8, 2013 – 7:30pm

Berklee Performance Center
136 Massachusetts Avenue
Boston, MA, 02115

Buy Tickets

The SFJAZZ Collective presents the music of Chick Corea with acclaimed musicians David Sanchez, Miguel Zenon ’98, Avishai Cohen ’99, Robin Eubanks, Stefon Harris, Edward Simon, Matt Penman ’95, and Obed Calvaire. Launched in 2004 by SFJAZZ, the Collective has become one of the most exciting and acclaimed groups on the jazz scene. As the New York Times hailed the Collective upon its debut, “A serious jazz band rises in San Francisco.”

 Each year, the ensemble performs new arrangements of compositions by a modern jazz master and new compositions by the members, commissioned by SFJAZZ. Through this pioneering approach, honoring jazz history while championing the music’s up-to-the-minute directions, the collective embodies SFJAZZ’s commitment to jazz as a living ever-relevant art form. After exploring the work of Ornette Coleman (2004), John Coltrane (2005), Herbie Hancock (2006), Thelonious Monk (2007), Wayne Shorter (2008), McCoy Tyner (2009), Horace Silver (2010), and Stevie Wonder (2011-2012), the collective now turns its sights on legendary pianist and composer Chick Corea.

Admission: $25, $30, reserved seating  Buy Tickets